top of page

QUESTIONS FRÉQUEMMENT POSÉES
S'il vous plaît, Contactez-nous si vous avez une question sans réponse

minus.png
plus.png

COVID-19 :  Les programmes de Fortune Freestyle seront exécutés conformément aux politiques, règles et règlements COVID-19 prescrits par le gouvernement et en vigueur dans les installations et les domaines skiables où nous nous entraînons. Pour plus d'informations sur les politiques, règles et règlements applicables à Camp Fortune, veuillez visiter les sites Web suivants : Camp Fortune et la province de Québec .

minus.png
plus.png

L'entraînement commence sur neige à 9h00 et se poursuit jusqu'à 15h00 avec une pause déjeuner vers 11h30-12h30. Pour la saison 2023-2024, certaines modifications des heures de début, de fin et de pause pourraient être nécessaires en fonction de la capacité et du chargement des lodges et des remontées mécaniques. Nous informerons tous les participants avant le début de nos programmes et en continu via Teamsnap.
 

minus.png
plus.png

Nous sommes un programme de ski acrobatique plutôt qu'un programme d'apprentissage du ski. Si vous pouvez skier confortablement sur toutes les pistes bleues de Camp Fortune et que vous êtes d'accord avec certaines des plus petites caractéristiques du parc, ou si vous aimez skier les bosses (ou essayer de skier les bosses), alors tout ira bien.

minus.png
plus.png

Les athlètes de nos programmes sont âgés de 7 à ~18 ans. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour regrouper des athlètes d'âge et de capacité similaires.

minus.png
plus.png

Nos groupes ont un maximum de 8 skieurs par entraîneur.

minus.png
plus.png

Ça dépend. Afin de maintenir notre ratio skieur/entraîneur, nous ne pouvons pas accepter les changements d'horaire d'une journée. Pour ceux qui ont besoin de plus de flexibilité, nous encourageons fortement l'inscription à notre programme de deux jours, qui est considérablement réduit. Le transfert permanent d'un jour d'entraînement à l'autre est soumis à la disponibilité des entraîneurs. Veuillez envoyer un e-mail à fortunefreestyle@gmail.com pour démarrer ce processus.

minus.png
plus.png

Consultez notre politique de remboursement/d'annulationici.

S'il vous plaît envoyer un courrielfortunefreestyle@gmail.compour démarrer ce processus.

minus.png
plus.png

Bien que nos programmes soient dispensés en anglais, bon nombre de nos entraîneurs sont bilingues et nous avons réussi à accueillir des francophones dans le passé. À l'avenir, nous espérons fournir notre inscription et notre site Web en anglais et en français. Nous apprécions votre patience pendant que nous nous efforçons de fournir l'accessibilité.

minus.png
plus.png

Non, pas si tu ne veux pas. Beaucoup de nos athlètes choisissent de concourir tandis que d'autres participent au club uniquement pour le plaisir.

minus.png
plus.png

Oui, quand nous disons que vous êtes prêt. 

Nous suivons un chemin de progression strict pour les invertis. Les athlètes doivent d'abord démontrer des inversions sur trampoline et airbag/rampe d'eau avant de se déplacer sur la neige. Si vous souhaitez apprendre à faire des flips, nous vous encourageons à vous inscrire au trampoline (voir : https://www.fortunefreestyle.com/fall) et à participer à notre rampe d'eau estivale
et programmes d'airbags (voir : https://www.fortunefreestyle.com/water-ramp-and-airbag).

minus.png
plus.png

Absolument. Tous nos entraîneurs détiennent des certifications actives avec Freestyle Canada. Beaucoup de nos entraîneurs ont également des qualifications avancées qui leur permettent d'entraîner des athlètes de compétition de slopestyle et de bosses, et d'enseigner les habiletés aériennes (y compris les flips) sur trampoline, rampe d'eau/airbag et neige.

minus.png
plus.png

Il n'y a pas de supervision formelle des participants au déjeuner. Cependant, dans le passé, de nombreux
parents, athlètes et entraîneurs ont déjeuné ensemble dans la même section du
loge. Si votre enfant est plus jeune, nous vous encourageons à prendre rendez-vous avec votre enfant pour
déjeuner.

minus.png
plus.png

Le Grand Hambolo bien sûr. Demandez-lui simplement.

minus.png
plus.png

Notre journée commence à 9 h précises à l'extérieur au bas de la chaise Pineault pour un échauffement sur neige. Nous aurons mis en place des drapeaux/bannières Fortune Freestyle pour vous aider à nous trouver.

minus.png
plus.png

Les skieurs acrobatiques sont un groupe d'inconditionnels. Si Camp Fortune est ouvert, nous skions. Habillez-vous convenablement ! 

Nos entraîneurs sont formés pour surveiller les signes d'engelures, de surchauffe, d'engorgement et d'inconfort général. Nous ferons des pauses au besoin pour assurer la sécurité de tous.

minus.png
plus.png

Les billets de remontée ou les laissez-passer de saison doivent être achetés séparément auprès de Camp Fortune.

minus.png
plus.png

Pour les jeunes skieurs débutants, n'importe quel équipement fera l'affaire. Bien que les skieurs trouvent généralement que les skis à double spatule sont les plus polyvalents. Au fur et à mesure que les compétences se développent et si un skieur commence à concourir, des skis de bosses dédiés avec des bords tranchants et des skis de parc à double pointe montés au centre faciliteront le développement de compétences plus avancées, mais ceux-ci ne sont certainement pas nécessaires pour nos programmes récréatifs (Fundamentalz/Freestylerz).

minus.png
plus.png

Oui. Une fois le programme débuté, nous calculerons les frais au prorata, et ceux qui sont intéressés doivent contacter fortunefreestyle@gmail.com pour obtenir un code de réduction.

minus.png
plus.png

Fortune Freestyle est une organisation à but non lucratif gérée par des bénévoles et créée pour développer et former des athlètes en ski acrobatique. Nous opérons à partir de Camp Fortune mais ne faisons pas partie de Camp Fortune en soi.

Retour au sommet
bottom of page

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Please contact us if you have a question not answered here

What are Fortune Freestyle's Covid-19 Policies?

COVID-19:  Fortune Freestyle's programs will be run in accordance with the COVID-19 policies, rules and regulations prescribed by the government and in force at the facilities and ski areas where we train. For information on the policies, rules and regulations applicable at Camp Fortune please visit the following websites: Camp Fortune and the Province of Quebec .

What are the start and stop times on a training day?

Training starts on-snow at 9:00 am and goes until 3:00 pm with a lunch break around 11:30-12:30. For the 2022-2023 season, some modification to start, end and break times may be required in response to COVID restrictions – including lodge and lift capacity limits. We will update all participants in advance of commencement of our programs.

How good of a skier do I need to be to join?

We're a freestyle ski program rather than a learn-to-ski program. If you can comfortably ski all the blue runs at Camp Fortune and are ok hitting some of the smaller features in the park, or like skiing the moguls (or trying to ski the moguls) then you'll be fine.

How old are the skiers in your programs?

Athletes in our programs range in age from 7 to ~18. We do our best to group athletes together who are of similar age and ability.

What's your ratio of instructors to athletes?

Our groups have a maximum of 8 skiers per coach.

Can I change training days?

It depends. To maintain our skier to coach ratio we cannot accommodate one-day scheduling changes. For those who require more flexibility we strongly encourage registering for our two-day program, which is significantly discounted. Transferring permanently from one training day to the other is subject to coach availability. Please email fortunefreestyle@gmail.com to start this process.

How do I request a refund?

Review our Refund/Cancellation Policy here.

Please email fortunefreestyle@gmail.com to start this process.

Do you offer programming in French?

While our programs are delivered in English, many of our coaches are bilingual and we've successfully accommodated French speakers in the past. In the future we hope to provide our registration and website in English and in French. We appreciate your patience as we move to provide accessibility.

Do I have to compete?

Nope, not if you don't want to. Many of our athletes choose to compete while others participate in the club only for the fun of it.

Can I do flips?

Yes, when we say you're ready. 

We follow a strict progression path for inverts. Athletes must first demonstrate inverts on trampoline and airbag/water ramp before they move onto the snow. If you are interested in learning how to flip, you are encouraged to sign up for trampoline (see: https://www.fortunefreestyle.com/fall) and to participate in our summer water ramp
and airbag programs (see: https://www.fortunefreestyle.com/water-ramp-and-airbag).

Are your coaches certified?

Absolutely. All our coaches hold active certifications with Freestyle Canada. Many of our coaches also have advanced qualifications which allows them to coach competitive slopestyle and mogul athletes, and to teach air skills (including flips) on trampoline, water ramp/airbag and snow.

What happens at lunch? Is there supervision for my son/daughter?

There is no formal supervision of participants at lunch. However, in the past many
parents, athletes and coaches have eaten lunch together in the same section of the
lodge. If your child is younger, we encourage you to arrange to meet your child for
lunch.

Due to restrictions on lodge capacity, last season coaches were not able to bring athletes into the lodge, or for athletes and coaches to eat together with their groups. We are hopeful that this season will be more "normal", And we can all gather together again in the lodge. for updates closer to the start of programs.

 

If you have specific instructions for drop off, please speak to your son/daughter’s coach, or e-mail fortunefreestyle@gmail.com.  

Who's the best skier?

The Great Hambolo of course. Just ask him.

Where does the club meet in the morning?

Our day starts promptly at 9:00 outside at the bottom of the Pineault chair for on-snow warm up. We will have Fortune Freestyle flags/banners set up to help you find us.

It's going to be very cold/warm/wet/windy. Are we still going to train?

Freestyle skiers are a hard-core bunch. If Camp Fortune is open then we're skiing. Dress appropriately! 

Our coaches are trained to watch for signs of frostbite, overheating, waterlogging and general discomfort. We'll take breaks as needed to keep everyone safe.

Are lift tickets included in the price?

Lift tickets or seasons passes must be purchased separately from Camp Fortune.

Camp Fortune seasons passes are on sale until September 30. NOTE THAT
SEASONS PASSES SOLD OUT BY EARLY OCTOBER LAST YEAR – AS A
RESULT YOU ARE ENCOURAGED TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE EARLY
SEASON DISCOUNTS AND PURCHASE A SEASONS PASS AS SOON AS
POSSIBLE.

NOTE ALSO THAT LIFT TICKET SALES MAY BE CAPPED AGAIN THIS SEASON IN VIEW OF COVID. LAST YEAR LIFT TICKETS SOLD OUT MANY WEEKENDS. IF YOU DO NOT PURCHASE A SEASON’S PASS, YOU SHOULD ENSURE THAT YOU PURCHASE A LIFT TICKET FAR IN ADVANCE OF EACH WEEKEND (MONDAY OR TUESDAY AT THE LATEST).

What kind of equipment do I need?

For young skiers starting out, any equipment will do. although skiers generally find twin-tip skis to be the most versatile. As skills develop and if a skier starts to compete, dedicated mogul skis with sharp edges and center-mounted twin-tip park skis will facilitate more advanced skill development, but these are definitely not required for our recreational (Fundamentalz/Freestylerz) programs.

The program has already started, can I still register?

Yes! Late registrations are usually accepted after the start of our program, subject to space availability. 

Email us for more info at fortunefreestyle@gmail.com

Are you part of Camp Fortune / what is Fortune Freestyle?

Fortune Freestyle is a volunteer-run not-for-profit organisation established to develop and train athletes in Freestyle Skiing. We operate out of Camp Fortune but are not part of Camp Fortune per se.